Autotools redirect…

It’s been a while since I’ve added an entry to my running Autotools tutorial. But there’s a good reason for this. I’ve been given the opportunity to write this tutorial as a book on Free Software Magazine.

The good news is that you can find the book (which contains a much updated version of most of the content of my current Autotools tutorial entries, plus additional information and graphics that will be very helpful to you, I think) here at fsm’s Book center.

I’ve written several articles over the last couple of years for Free Software Magazine, and Tony Mobily has been a wonderful editor to work with. As the magazine has grown in popularity, authors have gotten raises, which is nearly opposite of what’s happening in the rest of the publishing industry. I suppose it helps that the pay wasn’t much to begin with: a free book upon publication of an article. But I’m easy.

Check out the book – you can even register on your FSM account to receive notifications when the content changes, but don’t take every such notification to heart – I’m out there updating little things quite often lately.

I’ll continue, of course, to post interesting software, hardware, open source and identity oriented tidbits here on my blog from time to time, so stay tuned.

4 comments on “Autotools redirect…

  1. Chen Levy says:

    Hi, I got a link to your autotools book on FSM from lxer.com, and I hope this is the one that will help me finally *understand* this tool chain.

    I am just on the first chapters, but it is seem very accessable. Thank you very much.

    I found little spelling errors, that I like to send you errata for, but didn’t find any good way to send you this errata so here goes:

    on: http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/books/agaal/brief_introduction_to_gnu_autotools
    under Automake:
    s/satisified/satisfied/
    s/exmaple/example/

    Cheers,
    Chen.

  2. Chen Levy says:

    … and under Running configure
    s/charactistics/characteristics/
    s/specfically/specifically/

  3. petros says:

    Hello,
    first, I would like to express “a big thank you” for the effort of authoring the “Autotools” tutorial.

    Second, I have a question because I started reading/working on this tutorial last May (May 2011) and now I have reached chapter “FLAIM: an Autotools example” [URL: http://fsmsh.com/2765 ].

    Now, I wonder which version of FLAIM I need, in order to go through all the practical procedure and exercises of the tutorial. If I understand correctly, during the last 3 years, you have personally converted FLAIM ‘s build system to use Autotools in Sourceforge (and Novell?), so the latest version of FLAIM is not suitable for someone that wishes to follow the practice proposed by the tutorial. Am I right?

    If I am right, which would be the FLAIM version that I should have in to “play with Autotools” and learn?

    Again, thank you very much,
    petros.

  4. Joe Sewell says:

    Any idea when you plan to move the M4 stuff in here to your wonderful FSM book?

Comments are closed.