Effective Communications and Apache Ant

Nothing bothers me more, when searching for the solution to a software problem that I’ve encountered, than to find someone with similar problems asking questions on various message boards, only to have response after response sound something like this:

“What’s changed in your code?”

“Look for the problem in your code.”

“You’ve messed something up in your code.”

“Your environment is hosed.”

Recently, I had a problem building a very large Java project with Apache Ant. I kept getting, “Error starting modern compiler.” about a third of the way into the build (5-10 minutes). Not getting any help from the core project team, I did what I usually do – I turned to Google search and immediately found a few people with the same problem. Unfortunately, most of them were using Ant in conjunction with Eclipse. I was getting the same error message from the command line.

I can usually judge by now the age of a problem by the number and quality of responses I find in a Google search. This was clearly a fairly recent issue. One link I found was in reference to the Apache build itself, wherein a bug was filed against Ant for this very issue (or one very nearly like it).

But it irks me to no end when people feel the need to respond to queries on issues like this, without having anything useful to say. If you haven’t encountered the problem before, or you don’t have any particular insight into what’s causing it, then please don’t respond with silly accusations about how the original poster’s environment must be hosed, or how his code must be at fault.

The fact is, software tools have bugs. It’s that simple. Even a tool as revered in the Java world as Ant will have defects. The solutions I eventually found included either changing my project build script in such a way as to cause Ant to fork a new process when it get’s to a particularly large build, or to increase the amount of virtual memory allocated to Ant via an Ant command-line option. I chose to set ANT_OPTS=-Xmx512m in my environment before executing Ant (mainly because I disagree in principle with project-specific solutions to general tool problems).

As it turns out, the root cause of this problem seems to be related more to the fact that Ant can’t spawn a child process, rather than that the wrong compiler was referred to by some environment variable. Java 1.6 has more problems than Java 1.5, probably because 1.6 is larger and more resource intensive than 1.5. The inaccuracy of the message (“modern compiler”??) leads us to believe that the problem is with the compiler itself. But that’s an entirely different problem in effective communications…

2 comments on “Effective Communications and Apache Ant

  1. Alex says:

    Not sure what to make of it, but that

    set ANT_OPTS=-Xmx512m

    did not help.

    What did however is a reboot (Windows NT box).

  2. Alex Katz says:

    Hey, thanks a million!!! It is Sunday night, and I was supposed to get a build out by the morning, when I got this “Error starting modern compiler” (after the compiler seemed to be running for a while). Setting the ANT_OPTS=-Xmx512m, as you suggested, worked like a charm. The build is done!

Comments are closed.